Blogging…one day at a time

When I Grow Up…

This week in our public relations writing class, to hot topic for the blogs is the “dream job”. Since I was about 12, I have always wanted to work for a fashion magazine. I love the idea of a fast-paced environment filled with chic, desirable clothing and accessories. To this day, I can’t get enough when I flip through the pages of Elle, Vogue, and Cosmopolitan. It was hard for me to find my route when I came to college, because I knew that writing was my strong point but I didn’t want to be a writer for a fashion magazine. I want to work behind the scenes, helping to pick what should and should not make the cut in the next month’s issue. I want to be there on photo shoots, and meet the brilliant designers and artists.

Not only is this job perfect for me, most fashion magazines are located in New York City, one of my favorite places on earth. I love that there is so much culture, so much to do, and so much to learn in such a big place. It is also filled with history, as well as everything that is on the rise. My family and I usually take a short summer trip up the to Big Apple once a year, and every time I leave feeling like I can’t get enough. I know that I could only live there for a short while, but to ne able to experience such an industry as fashion, and a city like New York would be worth a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

