Blogging…one day at a time

Today in class, we grouped up with people whom shared the topics we chose in chapter two. My group, number four, was Public Relations Coming of Age. It focused on the years 1950-2000. I liked today’s activity because it gave the class a chance to really interact with each other. I thought the most beneficial for all of us was when each group member made smaller groups with classmates from other topics. I liked hearing from the other students the main points about each section, I think it was very efficient. I took notes of the facts I found most important. I enjoyed the exercise from class today ¬†because it’s good to shake up things from the normal routine. By now, college students are used to walking into a classroom where they plan to sit for an hour or more, taking notes whether their professor supplies them or not. Getting to, in a way, attribute to the lesson was a good change. I especially liked the video at the end of the class. Today really taught me a lot about public relations. I found it most interesting that it was based in things like the American Revolution and Boston Tea Party. I learned about the age old word “propaganda”, and the fact that the internet is now the growing source of communications as we know it. In fact, I am living proof of that statement. I watch my two favorite shows the day after they air online, and I also video chat with my dad who lives in California. Overall, today’s class really gave me some insight about where public relations came from, and where it’s going.

Leave a Reply

